Labour MPs and union leaders call for Lula’s freedom

Former Brazilian President Lula Rejects ‘Low Blows ...

Many contributors to The Clarion would not share the politics and analysis of Brazil which we would guess most of the signatories endorse – for some more critical analysis of the rise of the right in Brazil from a Brazilian socialist we published, see here. But we think this gesture of solidarity is worth recording.

We condemn the continued persecution of former President Lula in Brazil (jailed on April 7 2018). Lula was favourite to win Brazil’s 2018 presidential election until he was jailed and barred from standing in a move condemned by the UN Human Rights Committee.

The election was subsequently won by the far-right Jair Bolsonaro who has said he hopes Lula “rots in prison”. Astonishingly, Judge Moro who oversaw Lula’s trial has now been appointed as Bolsonaro’s Minister of Justice.

Lula is a political prisoner. We call for his freedom and stand in solidarity with those struggling for democracy in Brazil.


Richard Burgon MP
Diane Abbott MP
Daniel Carden MP
Emma Dent Coad MP

David Drew MP
Karen Lee MP
Grahame Morris MP
Laura Pidcock MP
Danielle Rowley MP
Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP

Laura Smith MP
Baroness Jean Corston
Baroness Llin Golding
Neil Findlay MSP
Bill Kidd MSP
Tariq Ali

John Pilger
Frances O’Grady
, General Secretary, TUC
Len McCluskey, General Secretary, Unite the Union
Dave Prentis, General Secretary, UNISON
Tim Roache, General Secretary, GMB
Paddy Lillis, General Secretary, USDAW
Manuel Cortes, General Secretary, TSSA
Mick Whelan, General Secretary, ASLEF
Ronnie Draper, General Secretary, BFAWU
Chris Kitchen, General Secretary, NUM
Tony Burke & Christine Blower, Vice-Chairs, Brazil Solidarity Initiative
Rachel Garnham, Labour NEC & Labour Friends of Progressive Latin America

Let us know what you think? Write a reply?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *