No going back to anti-immigration politics

We, the undersigned Labour Party members and organisations, are concerned to ensure Labour does not retreat to anti-migrant politics, which divide workers and entrench racism. We note the surge in hate crime of all sorts since the referendum, driven above all by anti-migrant bigotry.

We are alarmed that the party sent out an anti-immigration graphic in response to Theresa May’s speech at Tory Party conference, criticising the Tories for failing to bring down immigration; and that shadow Brexit minister Keir Starmer has called for a reduction in immigration and limitations on freedom of movement.

We call on the party to ensure that no more anti-immigration propaganda is issued in its name, and call for Labour and the whole labour movement to fight to defend and extend migrants’ rights and freedom of movement. The labour movement must fight for social demands – on jobs, workers’ rights, homes, the NHS, services, migrant impact funding and attacking inequality – which can unite all workers.

We agree with these comments Jeremy Corbyn made at Labour Party conference:

“It isn’t migrants that drive down wages … it’s exploitative employers… and the politicians who deregulate the labour market and rip up trade union rights…

“It isn’t migrants who put a strain on our NHS… it only keeps going because of the migrant nurses and doctors who come here… filling the gaps left by politicians who have failed to invest in training… It isn’t migrants that have caused a housing crisis… it’s a Tory government that has failed to build homes…

“A Labour government will not offer false promises on immigration… as the Tories have done. We will not sow division by fanning the flames of fear…

“That is the Labour way to tackle social tension… investment and assistance, not racism and division.”

Add your name by filling in this form or email

[contact-form to=”” subject=”Please add my name”][contact-field label=”Name” type=”name” required=”1″ /][contact-field label=”Email” type=”email” required=”1″ /][contact-field label=”CLP/Organisation” type=”text” required=”1″ /][/contact-form]

Rida Vaquas, Young Labour West Midlands Representative, Tamworth CLP
Chris Mears, Cardiff Central CLP
Tom Harris, Lewisham West and Penge CLP
Jamie Fozard, Aberdeen Central CLP
Barnaby Marder, Richmond Park CLP
Ben Towse, UCL Labour Campaigns Officer, Hornsey & Wood Green CLP
Tom Flanagan, University of Stirling Labour Vice President and Stirling CLP
Joseph Clough, Manchester Central CLP
Andrew Peak, Congleton CLP
Derek Hansen, Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale CLP.
Michael Muir, Uddingston and Bellshill CLP
Callum Cant, Brighton Pavillion CLP
Sacha Ismail, Lewisham East
Jamie Sims, South West Surrey CLP
Vince Lisle, Blyth Valley CLP
Vijay Jackson, Hastings and Rye CLP, BAME Officer of Edinburgh Labour Students
Peter Higgins, Stirling CLP & SYL Disabled Members Officer
James Harland. York Central CLP, Postgraduate and Mature Students Officer and CLP delegate to York Central CLP, University of York Labour Club.
Scott Rogers, Almond Valley CLP
Hope Worsdale, Coventry South CLP
Christy McMorrow, Cambridge CLP
Monty Shield, co-Youth Officer Hornsey and Wood Green CLP,
MYS committee
David Kirk, Leeds West CLP, Unite NE204/4
Josh Chown,Chair Surrey Labour Students; Youth Officer Guildford CLP
Jomaan Sherlala, Rugby
Rhiannon Lockley, Dudley South CLP
Edd Mustill, Liverpool Riverside CLP
Andy Warren, Lewisham Deptford CLP
Eleanor Clarke, Youth Officer, Holborn & St Pancras CLP
Zoe Salanitro, Birmingham Selly Oak CLP
Lily Marchant, Leeds North West CLP
Stephen Wood, Hayes & Harlingdon CLP
Imogen Tyreman, St Ives CLP
Liam McNulty, MYS National Committee, Hornsey & Wood Green CLP
Nicholas Csergö, Holborn & St Pancras CLP
Kate Harris, Hornsey & Wood Green CLP
Jenny Killin, Aberdeen Central CLP
Lyndsay Clelland, Chair, Scottish Young Labour, Hamilton Larkhall & Stonehouse CLP
Minesh Parekh, Warwick & Leamington CLP
Dan Iley-Williamson, Oxford East CLP
Daniel Round, Youth Officer, Stourbridge CLP
Anastazja Oppenheim, Islington North CLP
Rosie Woods, Harrow Momentum
Tim Cooper, Nottingham East CLP
Mark Crawford, UCL Labour Secretary, Tottenham CLP
Callum Forbes, Hammersmith CLP
Sahaya James, Stroud CLP
Rory Scothorne, Edinburgh South CLP
Pete Radcliff, Broxtowe Momentum
Josie Runswick, Salford & Eccles CLP, LGBT Labour Exec
Pete Firmin, Hampstead & Kilburn CLP
Joanne Land, Darlington CLP
Bethany Steventon-Crinks, LGBT rep, Warrington North CLP
Dan Jeffery, Streatham CLP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *